Car Crazy – a poem


This is what happens when you Google yourself. I found several poems I’d written and submitted to a poetry site years ago. This one is quite silly. See how many car names you recognize.

Car Crazy
by Diann L Tongco

As we walked hand in hand
down the fairlane, My lover and I
hearding the firebird sing a song
of love lost and his fair lady.
The little old lady next door,
Miata, looked up from her garden
just as Nash Hudson, the mail man,
handed her a fistful of letters.
The colorful card was from her nephew,
Rebel, all about his travels
braving the wilds of Rambler American
with hundreds of jaguars, cougars,
falcons & other wild spirits.
Miata smiled and waved,
wishing my lover and I luck
as we journey down life’s highway.
That night, my lover Ram,
wrote the most tender sonnet
For me, all about the triumph
he felt when I said yes,
I love you too.

Datsun Fair Lady

Copyright 1999 and 2012, Diann L. Tongco, All rights reserved

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in my ancient history, Poetry, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Car Crazy – a poem

  1. Dale Eckhardt says:

    This romantic poem makes me want to Escape with a Highlander Pilot to the Yukon and into Infiniti.

Leave a Reply

