Reader Comments on Stillness in the Garden


“I’m about 4+ chapters in, and LOVE it so far… Did I mention that I love this book, so far?” – Suzanne M.

“I’m on ch 11 and am having a hard time not thinking about when I can read more. It reads like a CSI episode.” – Mary H. (who says she’s not really a murder mystery fan)

I was afraid to publish my book. I thought perhaps no one would buy it or that even if they did get it, maybe they wouldn’t like it. I thought maybe it wasn’t ready, that I needed more time to perfect and massage the words. Maybe if I just waited and edited and pruned and worked a little more, it would be perfect.

It’s possible that could be true. But it’s also possible you can edit yourself into never publishing.

I knew I’d told my story decently. I’d created some interesting characters, I’d developed their interactions reasonably and with logical purpose. The tale hung together and the action grew organically. It was time to let my creation go out into the world and seek its audience – whatever that meant. I learned long ago to craft my poetry and then turn it loose. It is so much tougher to do that with a novel, but it still must be done. If you hold your writing close to your heart and protect it, you’ll never find out what people think of it and you’ll never hear the magical words like those above.

Thank you to Suzanne and Mary who bought copies in the first week and shared their reactions. You ladies make me smile!

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reader Comments on Stillness in the Garden

  1. Dale Eckhardt says:

    Can we read it if we don’t own a Kindle or other such device?

  2. Diann Writes says:

    Hi Dale,

    Amazon also has paperback version of my novel available OR if you’d rather spend less money, you can download a free Kindle player for your PC, Android, iOS, and other portable devices. If you decide to get the paperback, I have a discount coupon you can apply: RDMNDRPE.

    Let me know if you have any problems or have other questions.

  3. Loree Monroe says:

    I loved the book. It was well written, good characters (some likable, some not.) Story flowed in natural way. I wish it had been longer, more fleshed out.
    I got to read it while I was visiting in California. Too bad we didn’t get to see one another.

Leave a Reply

