Is it just me…?


I opened the file for the novel I’d planned to work on this three-day weekend and was surprised. It was a good surprise. The novel had an ending. Really. I’d wrapped it up nicely, written a nice denouement, The End, and even a short dedication. So why didn’t I remember this?

It will make my editing work easier, but for some reason this was not a welcome surprise. My plan was to first tackle the ending. I like the creative part, the writing, creative, crafting activities involved in writing a novel. The editing isn’t as much fun for me. So having an existing ending, and one in which I cannot find fault, only means that the editing much commence.

General Monk fucshia

General Monk fuchsia

As I am not quite prepared to edit, I have fallen back on my various procrastinating tactics: I got a cute, much-needed haircut this morning, I went to the Farmer’s Market and bought fresh organic fruit, fresh-cut flowers and a gorgeous fuchsia, and now I’m watching a friend’s niece play softball in the NCAA college women’s softball championship. Go Cal! And then there’s the fine art of procrastinating while writing a blog post – it’s close to actual productive work, but still doesn’t qualify!

Yes, I know I’m only prolonging the inevitable and yes, I will get back to work. But I think Victoria’s up to bat…

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

