Balancing Act – Creativity vs. Chores, How to Do It All


Ever notice that when there’s something you’re supposed to be working on all kinds of other tasks, large and small, clamor for your attention. I should be working on edits to my novel but the kitchen is a mess. And I promised to bring cookies to the Super Bowl get-together tomorrow or the pile of laundry is singing my name… I know, you understand. So what’s a girl to do?

I could take care of all those pesky chores and hope there’s still time and inspiration left for editing — which, quite honestly, is not nearly as much fun as writing. Or I could leave all the mundane stuff until it threatens to overtake the apartment before I finally pitch in (because no one else who lives here even sees the mess! Yes, I mean YOU!) Or I could do what I currently do which is switch off between the two.

So, while I type this, there’s a casserole dish soaking in the sink and a load of laundry chugging away. When the washer is through, I’ll stop typing, put the stuff in the dryer, start another load, finish washing the dish and take the dog for a short walk. Then it’ll be back to writing for an hour or so. Unless and until I win the lottery or some long lost relative leaves me a fortune, I’ll be working. And as long as I’m working, my weekends will have to split between my passion and my chores.

Splitting your focus isn’t as disruptive as it may sound. I find that while I’m away from the keyboard, my brain can still cycle through thoughts and ideas about my writing/editing. Walking in the fresh air provides a lift to my spirits and reinvigorates me. Not infrequently I’ll observe something that sparks my interest or provides a brilliant inspiration. I look at these enforced breaks as positive rather than as interruptions. And if I’m really on a roll, I simply wait until I do reach a place of pause before I tackle my next chore.

Well, the washer’s done so it’s on to the next thing. Thanks for hanging in there with me. Now, go get something done!

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Balancing Act – Creativity vs. Chores, How to Do It All

  1. That’s what I’ve been doing lately –though Charley has been helping with laundry–and he did help with dishes when I had tennis elbow.

  2. That’s what we refer to as multitasking! I was reading a help blog a couple of months ago and he said while doing the dishes describe it. How hot is the water, what do you see? Are there rainbows in the bubbles, etc. I have the saying on my computer screen “Taking time to live life, Will only inspire your work.” Sometimes the things we don’t want to do, can actually help us in our writing and editing. Now hurry and make those cookies, I’m hungry. 🙂

  3. Elisa says:

    This is so helpful. I just might go throw in some laundry really quickly 😉

  4. Marianne says:

    I multi-task, too. While the clothes are in the wash, I take a nap. 😉

Leave a Reply

