Writing and Not Writing


So, it’s been two weeks in the new job and I love it. However, as I mentioned last week, I’m not spending as much time writing. Yes, I’m doing some writing because, well, you all know I’m obsessed but I have to eat and play with the dog and do laundry sometimes too. And tomorrow I’m headed out for a field trip to a place called Smartsville to watch some very smart dogs do their thing. I hope it will be fun and educational (I’ve never been to an AKC spaniel flushing event before) but I also am thinking sadly about the time I’m going to spend driving to and from (about 7 hours in the car) as well as the hours there. It will be well worth the trip but it’s also time I’m not writing. Ugh.

Which brings me to my point, sometimes the time you take away from your writing refreshes you and sharpens your desire to tell those stories. Sometimes it just wipes you out physically. Tomorrow will likely be a little bit of both but while I’m watching English Springer Spaniels and who knows what other breeds locate and flush their birds, I’ll be thinking of plot points and whether my characters are well-enough developed or not.

What will you be doing this weekend?

 

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Writing and Not Writing

  1. Dale Eckhardt says:

    What about taking along a voice recorder to verbally write down ideas, thoughts, plot points, etc., while on the road?

  2. pambowenP says:

    I also will be “not writing”—visiting friends, hearing live music, and doing a photo shoot for a young singer. I have at least one song percolating, but haven’t sat down to write anything yet. Still, it’s a blessing to have the idea waiting to come to birth. I could have nothing to look forward to after all the busy-ness passes. Write on, gal!
    Pam Bowen

  3. I am planning on writing this weekend, actually! Maybe on Sunday I will even exercise! Oh, and reading “An Object of Beauty” by Steve Martin (yes, the “Wild and Crazy Guy!”), and knitting –trying to make good progress on a sweater for Charley before the cold weather is completely gone for the year!

  4. After an extremely busy week – nonstop from 8am to 4pm – and then diving into my SECOND job of running an at home online business with my fiance – if I’m lucky I get a couple of hours each night to promote/market my book and write – which doesn’t happen every night. This 3 day weekend, I have dedicated myself to my writing. Sure, I spent all morning cleaning and organizing the home office, then getting the new orders out, but my evening is dedicated to my writing.

    But I know what you mean about life getting in the way of writing. You do sometimes need the break – and being a teacher, I have to think/plan/organize for a living LOL – I find I need the breaks even when all I want to do is write!!

    Have fun! And don’t worry, you’re writing will be there waiting for you!

  5. Diann Writes says:

    Dale, I do that sometimes, but usually I’m listening to audiobooks since I don’t read much at home. Today, Mary and I were driving up together so we talked about dogs, traveling, work, family, specialties, and more. It was a blast.

    I’ve been used Dragon Naturally Speaking to help speed through last year’s novel but it’s less helpful for editing. It’s only been two weeks. I’m sure I’ll figure it all out. Sooner rather than later since those characters are bugging me!

    Thanks for the great suggestion!

Leave a Reply

