I’m NOT Wonder Woman?


There are times in life when you realize you just don’t have the time, energy or perhaps the ability to do all the things you want to do. This is one such time for me. It’s the new year and like many people, I have made resolutions about getting healthier, accomplishing goals, being better human beings, etc. My goals were mostly writing-centric with a side order of exercising more. However, I started a new job on Tuesday. Yay, me!

The new job is amazing. I love the company, my fellow employees, my benefits packages is astoundingly great, our cafeteria has tasty, healthy food choices at quite reasonable prices, it’s not a bad commute and they love me as much as I dig them. Yes, all is well on the employment front except when I get home I’m too pooped to do all that writing and dog training I had planned.

Now before one of you brilliant people tells me simply get up an hour or two earlier in the morning and do my writing then, let me tell you that I am just not a morning person. Yes, I can get myself out of bed, get showered, dressed and presentable, but please don’t think my brain is engaged at any time prior to about 9 am. Seriously. Getting up earlier would simply make it necessary to take a nap at about 2 pm. And I doubt my new boss would approve. Although we do have a ‘quiet room’ at work…

I’m counting on the fact that this is just my first week and that I’ll soon be in the swing of things and have more energy. I betting on it. I refuse to give up my goals simply because I’m tired. I may not be Wonder Woman* (I always thought she was a weird superhero in a dumb costume anyway – give me Storm or Kitty Pryde from the X-Men!) but I can handle this problem. My first month of 2012 may not be all I’d planned on the content creation front, but I will find a solution. Either I adapt and writing at night is once again a regular occurrence or I’ll figure out how to be more productive on my weekends.

I promise.

* Sorry, Wonder Woman. Reading through your ‘bio’, I realize it was probably all the fault of Lynda Carter and that goofy 1970s TV show.

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Non fiction books, Novel writing, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m NOT Wonder Woman?

  1. Caroline Bridges says:

    Suggesting I get up a few hours earlier fills me with despair. It’s not the end of the world, but it might be the end of me as a thinking, acting person. Maybe I’m just suffering the after-effects of two sons who never, ever slept until they were more than two years old. (They’re 16 mos apart in age, so they overlapped, and that phase went on FOREVER.)

    I’m so glad you love your new job, and I’m even happier that they love you right back. With that kind of situation, it might be easier to get up in the morning. No dread.

  2. Silly Mummy says:

    Congrats. I write and schedule things at night. And I also write on the train on the wordpress app. I’m aiming to post every 2 days. Maybe ask for guest posts. Good luck.

    • Diann Writes says:

      I love the idea of guest blogs – thanks. Too bad I can’t have someone guest ‘edit’ my novel! I suppose I can but I can’t afford it. I used to write on the San Diego Trolley when I rode it to work. Great opportunity to write with no real distractions.

      Thanks for your comment.

  3. Di-licious says:

    Happy new year Diann!
    Yes, I’m also thinking about new year resolutions and how to make life easier and simpler. And not just about family and home – being a better blogger is right up there (especially since I have a shiny new blog).
    Scheduling time to write (without distractions) is always difficult. I’m looking forward to kinder starting back but until then I’m trying to discipline myself to get the house in order first and then I can sit down guilt free for an hour or so while my daughter enjoys a DVD.
    I want to separate writing time from blog improvements, social media, and catching up on the blogs I follow. I’ve already failed today…but there’s always tomorrow! 🙂

    • Diann Writes says:

      I like the way you think: it’s not failure – just success postponed. We’ll figure it all out. I know we will. Because we have to.

      Thanks so much for your comment and best of luck carving out some writing time!

  4. It’s so nice to hear someone else say that they aren’t the kind of person who can do that “up at the crack of dawn to write before work” thing! My energy just doesn’t work that way. But for years I felt guilty about it. I do think that when we schedule writing time in like an appointment on a par with any other, it’s more likely to happen. Wishing you much luck with your writing and congratulations on the job.

  5. Crystal Lynn says:

    I can relate, it is really hard to get it all done. My blog is the only “me” thing that I enjoy doing and it is a shame that most nights I am unable to write in it. Kids keep us busy but we have to push for “me” time.. which is not always easy.

Leave a Reply

