Goodbye 2011! Beware of Zombies!


So here we are – the final day of 2011. We made it! Survived. Maybe even learned a few things. This past year has been a tough one financially and emotionally for me. I was out of work for several months which is never easy, but together with wonderful family and my supportive, sweet partner Nick, we made it through. I am so grateful for the wonderful people in my life – they lift me up when I need help and surround me with love and joy.

While 2011 might have been difficult, it also had its brighter moments. There was a lovely, lavish wedding, birthdays (including one special first birthday), family get togethers, holidays, long talks with friends, playing with puppies, hugs, and creative endeavors. We moved to a new place in beautifully landscaped area and I have a huge green lawn outside my windows, even if I have to share it with everyone else. It’s still mine to look out on every single day. And 2011 is the year I learned to knit!

I’m not sad to see 2011 go and I’m looking forward to 2012 – zombie apocalypse and other dire predictions! As the New Year unfolds, I will prepare for disaster, but I will also remember to be there to love and support my friends and family as they have done for me. I will keep creating and working and bringing forth my efforts. Like many things as they age (my knees!), those gates that hold back our creativity can swing shut quickly if we don’t keep the hinges oiled and moving! Looking backward over the past year can help you see the distance you’ve covered but it won’t tell you where you’re going. To see that, you have to face forward and, zombies or not, move into the new day.

I hope your New Year is all you want it to be. Happy New Year!

 

 

 

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye 2011! Beware of Zombies!

  1. Neeks says:

    Thank you, and Happy New Year to you too. I hope yours is also all you want it to be! Knitting huh? I never could get the hang of it, always did crochet.

  2. Good site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

