Good Advice – Whatever Field You’re In


“So manage your time, eat your goodies, and talk to your mentors. The rest will happen on its own. Good luck!”

The words of wisdom above came from an email newsletter I follow in the PR and Marketing fields. These are the areas where I earn my living and I’m always looking for good advice and tips to make work and life easier. So imagine my surprise when I read these wise words and realized they could equally apply to writers and writing endeavors.

Managing your time and eating your goodies (eat healthy snacks at regular intervals to keep your brain active) are obvious hints. “Talk to your mentor” might more easily be dismissed, but if you’re smart, (and I know you are!) you’ll redefine the word and role of mentor. A mentor may be someone who’s taken the path you’re on and succeeded or someone who has taken a parallel road to achievement. It might be someone who can advise on certain portions of the tasks you’re undertaking or it might be a friend whose consistent drive and vision inspire you. No one says we are only allowed to have one mentor. I’d suggest acquiring mentors in various areas so we have as much support, inspiration, and more resources from which to draw.

I guess all I’m saying is to read and read widely because you never know from where the next kernel of wisdom may arise.The help we need is out there – all we have to do is look around and be smart enough to recognize it when that help appears.

So, as a wise woman recently wrote, “… manage your time, eat your goodies, and talk to your mentors. The rest will happen on its own. Good luck!”

These smart suggestions were written by Laurie A. Moon is principal at Step Communications, with experience in non-profit, consumer and tech PR. Thanks, Laurie!

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Non fiction books, Novel writing, Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Advice – Whatever Field You’re In

  1. pambowen says:

    Thanks, Diann, I needed to hear that. With all the Christmas craziness, I haven’t talked to my mentors much lately, and I’m feeling dull. I’m going on a country music cruise in February and a workshop in Nashville in March. I will do my best to follow your advice. Happy New Year!
    Pam Bowen

  2. Diann Writes says:

    Pam – that’s great news. I can only imagine how energized you’ll be after your cruise and workshop. I love Nashville – it’s a fun place. I spent quite a bit of time in the ‘suburb’ of Franklin for work while I was living in Temecula. It’s an interesting place to visit if you have the time.

    Glad this advice resonated with you – I know I found it to be a good reminder.

    Happy New Year and happy song writing!

    Diann

Leave a Reply

