‘Tis the Season…


… to be busy! Yes, with the holidays fast approaching, we’re rushing around, shopping, buying gifts, wrapping those gifts, making special treats, eating too much and spending time with loved ones.I love the holidays!

With money tight this year, I’m making more gifts than usual and it’s fun! It’s also time-consuming which means it cuts into my writing time. My solution has been to work in blocks of time – I work on my writing for a couple of hours, then move to the next project. Then I go back to the writing. If something strikes me that I want to add to my WIP, I jot a note in the notebook I keep close at hand.

This year I’m making scented lip balm and cookies, and knitting scarves for gifts. There are a few gifts that have been purchased as well like a book of poetry I loved as a child for my grandchildren. If you’re looking for some terrific verse for young readers, get a copy of Silver Pennies – the illustrations are amazing too.

Enough of my gift list; I just wanted to put out a reminder not to neglect your writing during this busy time of year. I actually find this to be a very productive time possibly because my mind is fresh due changing focuses demanded by working in time blocks. So if you’re need a plan to help you get it all accomplished this holiday season, try carving out two or three hour chunks of time for each task. Stick to the schedule as closely as possible, then move to the next task.

It’s working for me. Oops, time to pick up my knitting!

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

