Christmas Letters


Tis the season… when people write holiday letters detailing all the fun and success their family has had through the previous year. I’m not a big fan of these letters, mostly because I feel I’m pretty good about staying in touch with the folks I want to know about my life throughout the year and I don’t want to bore them with a big long list of now mostly old news in December. Also some years, like this quickly passing one, haven’t brought a lot of successes. What are you supposed to say about that?

Here the synopsis for 2011: got new job, moved an hour South, got laid off, won NaNoWriMo, Ozzy (the dog) earned some championship points at a couple of shows, I spent time with family and friends, ate some wonderful food, Nick got a game tester job – his dream job, and I will start the New Year with a new gig. Yay! See, one paragraph; hell, one sentence. I probably left a couple of things out, but that happens even in longer holiday newsletters. You drop the darned thing in the mail and remember that awesome event you should’ve talked about and that Aunt Evelyn will no doubt ask why you left out the time you picked her up at the airport after her trip to Bali…

This year I lucked out. One of the publishers I follow on Twitter put a link to a cute little cookbook they’d created on smilebox.com. I saw my opportunity, quickly created an account and threw together a slide show of photos from the past year. This was terrific because it gave me a chance to brag about my lovely new granddaughter, my sweet grandson, my wonderful daughters, my goofy puppy and my terrific boyfriend, include short, hopefully slightly humorous captions, and include everyone. No struggling over what topics to include and what to omit.

I applaud those people who sit down and pull together a wonderful, cute, folksy newsletter with photos, news, recipes, and more every year. I just am not one of those people. It doesn’t mean I’m a Grinch, I’m really not. I just think that if you want to know what’s going on with me, check in any time. I’m on Facebook, Twitter, and here of course. Just don’t wait for a Christmas newsletter. I’m probably not writing one.

Sending warmest wishes to you and yours this holiday season and always!

Follow me on twitter: @kalindria

 

 

 

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
Aside | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Letters

  1. pambowen says:

    Thanks, Diann, that was short and SWEET!
    Merry Christmas!
    Pam Bowen

  2. Susan says:

    I will not be writing a Christmas letter either!

  3. Donna says:

    Who needs a newsletter when we have Facebook? The 21st century version of the Christmas letter: Write it in Facebook “notes” then “tag” all of your Facebook friends! Congrats on the new jobs to both of you, btw! Perfect job for Nick! (wish MY Nick could find a job like that!) 😉

Leave a Reply

