Now The Rewriting Begins


Like many of you, I participated – and won – National Novel Writing Month. It’s a wonderful mad dash toward the 50,000 word finish line. Now that we’ve reached the end of the month (and I hope you got to 50k, or more, words), what do we do?

Some years, I’ve looked at my WIP and simply put it away. Either it was horrible and I couldn’t look at it any more or I simply put it away, fully intending to edit it later. A few I’ve actually finished but I have yet to really polish any of them and get them ready for submission.

This year, I’m far from finished. I was writing a historical novel based on a true story and in the last week of November, I found new source material that drastically changed the trajectory of my novel. It’s also information that helps answer, in my opinion, some of the questions about the main character’s motivation. So I am now going back and working in those key events to flesh out the story. It’s not going to be fun but I am really compelled by the main character and her callous selfishness. She is unlike so many of the women we read about in historical novels and I want to bring this story to light.

That’s what I’m working on this month, and probably for the next few months. How about you?

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now The Rewriting Begins

  1. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  2. Neeks says:

    I saw this and thought, a real writer. I’ve seen so many NaNo winners blog post about winning NaNo and how they are going to submit their novel now to such and such…either they’ve hired a Large team of editors (who will work very quickly) or they aren’t editing at all. Obviously a big mistake.
    I’m one of those that never quite finishes editing. Every single time I look at my writing I see something I want to change. So nothing ever actually gets “done” enough to submit anywhere. Hehe
    Your novel sounds like it will be interesting. Good luck on the edits!

Leave a Reply

