Poetry from Days Past


Once upon a time, when I had published several poems and finally felt I was successfully communicating through my poetry, I actually put down “Poet” as my occupation on my blood donor card. That was a proud day for me. While I haven’t written any poetry lately, I know that much of what I learned as a poet – keen attention to word choices, the flow of language, the cadence of each line, the emotion and the importance of subtext – continues to influence my work as a writer.

I thought I would include some of my work here for your reading enjoyment. Both have been published and are protected by copyright. I hope you enjoy!

Chiaroscuro

You come to me
With darkness,
A succubus to tempt
And delight.
The interplay of your
Disembodied spirit
And my clouded mine
Surpasses mere sunlight.

We are phantoms,
Obscured; half-seen
Shadows cast in dusk.
Our tangled kisses
Eclipse the bright
Sun of other loves.

Are you here
Or only a shade
Who haunts my
Once-sheltered dreams?
Night slips silently
Across the bed
And I fade into
A netherworld
Of twisted sheets.

Waiting For Spring

 

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in my ancient history, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry from Days Past

  1. pambowen says:

    The second one especially touches me, now that I am older, but they both speak of your passion as a woman and an artist. Thanks for posting these.
    Pam

Leave a Reply

