NaNoWriMo and the Case of the Procrastinating Writer


Yes, folks, in case you were wondering, that writer is me. And I’m not procrastinating in the traditional sense, but the writing is progressing slowly. This is my second attempt at a creative piece based on a historical figure (both women, in case anyone’s wondering) and both have proven difficult for similar reasons.

Perhaps because of my upbringing as a historian’s daughter, I want the names of minor characters, background, clothing, conveyances, political and artistic themes to be accurate. This means I have to do research. I did considerable research on this topic several years ago when I was contemplating a novel set in the same time period but now I need specifics on such things as men’s evening attire in France in 1672 (the time of Louis XIV) or a portrait painter who worked at that time. These topics wouldn’t have been part of my first novel which was set in the time frame but not based on a real person.

The ‘real person’ may be my main issue. How do I get inside the head of a woman who lived a life of privilege and wealth hundreds of years ago and turned into a serial killer. Never heard of the killer who hung out in the court of the Sun King? Neither had I until I did my research on 17th century witch trials. I think I may have an explanation for Mimi’s behavior that makes sense to my modern sensibilities, but since she left no letters or diary, we will never truly know her motivation. I do know that Marie-Madeleine-Marguerite d’Aubray, the Marquise de Brinvilliers, was a cold-blooded murderer. Her story is an interesting one and while getting it down on the page is a slow process, I’m learning a lot.

That said, it’s time to get back to Mimi and her evil doings. She hasn’t yet started her killing spree and we have a lot to accomplish before November draws to a close.

I wish you all well in your novel-writing endeavors as well!

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo and the Case of the Procrastinating Writer

  1. Donna says:

    Sounds interesting! I’ve gotten pretty good this month a writing (put a syn. for “felt” here) or (research actual events later) and then telling myself I can worry about it in December. It isn’t easy though. I still stop every once in a while and google things.

Leave a Reply

