Here We Go… NaNoWriMo!


So here we are, the last day of October. The brink of November and National Novel Writing Month. And I’m still not sure what I’m going to write.

Actually, last night as I fell asleep, I had a brilliant idea that had something to do with tarot cards but that’s all I can remember. Usually I get up and write these brainstorms down but I was beat yesterday. We had a big family celebration and the day before I’d been participating in a dog show two hours away… so yes, I was tired and didn’t write anything down. And now I’m paying for it.

I’ve always wanted to do a DragonLance style book where all the choices are decided by a dice roll. I think that would be a lot of fun. But I realize I would need a Dungeon Master to set up the choices and guide me on the storyline. That’s not going to be a time-smart choice for November. One day though, I’m going to do this.

Nick and I are planning to attend the midnight First Minute Write-In at the Denny’s in Santa Clara tonight with other Silicon Valley WriMos. It should be fun. It will be our first in person contact with writers in our new region. By then I will have nailed down my topic. Or my genre at any rate! I’ll keep you posted.

About Diann Writes

Diann L. Tongco enjoys sketching, crafts and photography as well as writing poetry and novels. To stay out of trouble, she writes, shows curly-coated retrievers, grows fragrant roses, drinks good of wine with friends and spends time with her grandchildren. She lives on Washington's Puget Sound with her boyfriend Nick and their dog Ozzy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here We Go… NaNoWriMo!

  1. pambowen says:

    I’m sure you’ll do great things, no matter what you decide on, Diann. May the muse be with you!
    Pam

  2. Diann Writes says:

    Thanks, Pam! Love the Star Wars reference!

  3. Dale Eckhardt says:

    Keep a notebook and ball point pen by your bed for those middle of the night dreams. Print, don’t write in cursive, the dream. It is easier to decipher in the morning! It’s November — even in California — now. Can’t wait to hear how the writing is going! You go, girl!

  4. Diann Writes says:

    You’re so right, Dale. I usually do have a notebook nearby but I was sure I’d remember the dream (I did eventually). The writing is going pretty well so far. Now if I can just figure out how to manage two novels at once. I’m really hoping one of them will become more insistent. Or maybe the dog will somehow indicate a preference!

    Thanks for the encouragement! I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

